Page links; Related site pagesBook travel, hotelsUseful outside linksAbout us, Contact

On this page;

Information on cycling holidays in France – Day-tripper.net the web magazine for visitors to France.

Cycling in France

Some useful information for cyclists visiting France.

France is an ideal place to holiday for cyclists. There are also many established cycle routes in the Nord / Pas-de-Calais region.

Eurotunnel have a special mini bus which takes cyclists across, twice a day (9.30am and 3.30pm, return 12.30pm and 6.00pm), 7 days a week, from 1st May to 31st October.

More information – 01303 288 790.

Related site pages

Holidays in France; GitesSpasWineWorld WarEventsFrench Tourist OfficesTravelling TipsWeather

Local information for Cyclists

Comité Départemental de Cyclotourisme (Pas-de-Calais). Tel: 0033 321 72 67 26.

Cycle routes and local Tourist Offices

– Useful information about clubs and events in Pas de Calais for cyclists (in French). cyclotourisme

Cycle clubs and events in the NORD department. www.cyclos59.com

Mountian bike events. www.vtt5962.com

Around Calais

Route Terres des 2 Caps, 38km, 3H 30 to 4H 00 (Wissant, Landrethun-le-Nord). Office de Tourisme de Wissant. Tel: 0033 321 82 48 00.

Route Les Marbrières, 42km, 4H 30 (Wimereux, Rinxent, Conteville-les-Boulogne, Marquise, Pittefaux, Manninghem-Henne). Office de Tourisme de Marquise. Tel: 0033 321 87 50 52 (and Wissant).

Route La Colonne Blanchard, 30km, 3H 00 (Guînes, Forêt de Guînes, Alembon, Fiennes). Office de Tourisme de Guînes. Tel: 0033 321 35 73 73.

Route La Chapelle Saint Louis, 30km, 3H 00 (Ardres, Tournehem-sur-la-Hem). Office de Tourisme de Ardres. Tel: 0033 321 35 28 51.

Route Les 5 Ruisseaux, 37km, 3H 30 to 4H 00 (Licques). Office de Tourisme de Guînes. Tel: 0033 321 35 73 73.

Route Les 3 Cayelles, 38km, 3H 00 (Audruicq, Eperlecques). Office de Tourisme Eperlecques. Tel: 0033 321 95 66 25.

Route Moulins et Sècheries, 42km, 3H 30 (Oye-Plage, Saint-Omer-Capelle, Vielle-Eglise et Offekerque, Nouvelle-Eglise). Communauté de Communes d'Audruicq. Tel: 0033 321 00 83 83.

Around Boulogne

Route Le Bocage, 42km, 4H 15 (Le Wast, Desvres, Crémarest). Office de Tourisme de svres. Tel: 0033 321 83 23 23.

Route La Cité des Potiers, 31km, 3H 15 (Desvres, Wierre-au-Bois – Samer, Wirwignes, Crémarest. www.ville-samer.fr). Office de Tourisme. Tel: 0033 321 87 10 42 (also Desvres – see above).

Route le Mont Violette, 29km, 2H 50. Office de Tourisme Samer. Tel: 0033 321 87 10 42. www.ville-samer.fr

Cycling in France

Information on cycling in France

Fédération Française de Cyclotourisme; 8, rue Jean-Marie-Jégo, 75013 Paris. Tel: 0033 1 44 16 88 86.

Fédération Française de Cyclisme; 43, rue de Dunkerque, 75010 Paris. Tel: 0033 1 42 85 41 20.

Recommendations for Cyclists

Follow the highway code Remain Cautious In a group, do not ride with more than two people side by side Choose a roadworthy bike adapted to your height Use a bike fitted with the compulsory safety equipment Wear a helmet Make sure you have a first aid kit Be visible from a distance Choose an itinerary adapted to your physical condition Bring along food and drinks On your stops, do not forget to respect the environment

TIP; Train companies often charge a lot to carry bicycles, but they can usually be taken with you as carry-on luggage, free of charge, providing you put your bike in a special zip-up 'bike bag' (available from cycling shops) with its wheels removed and handlebars turned to reduce bulk. It can then be stowed in the normal luggage area the end of each coach.

Companies offering Holidays for Cyclists in France

Useful link: Bike Express is a coach company that takes bikes and operates three routes to France and Spain. www.bike-express.co.uk

– 2 Wheel Treks. Tel: 0845 612 6106 / 01483 271212. www.2wheeltreks.co.uk

– Alpine Elements. Tel: 08700 111 360. www.alpineelements.co.uk

– Alternative Travel Group. Tel: 01865 315 665. www.atg-oxford.co.uk

– Brittany Borders Bicycling. Tel: 0033 299 97 08 76. www.brittanybordersbicycling.com

– Back Roads. Tel: 01425 655 022. www.countrylanes.co.uk

– Belle France. Tel: 01797 223 777 / 0870 405 4056. www.bellefrance.co.uk

– Breton Bikes. Tel: 0033 296 24 86 72. www.bretonbikes.com

– Chain Gang Cycle Tours. Tel: 01392 66 22 62. www.thechaingang.co.uk

– Cycle Breaks. Tel: 01449 721555. .cyclebreaks.com

– Cycle Rides. Tel: 01225 428 452. www.cycle-rides.co.uk

– Cycling for Softies. Tel: 0161 248 8282. www.cycling-for-softies.co.uk

– Deluxe Cycle Tours. Tel: 0033 5 53 51 26 90. www.deluxecycletours.com

– Discovery Travel. Tel: 0044 1904 632 226. www.discoverytravel.co.uk

Digngo – Digngo. www.digngo.com

Digngo – Discover France. www.discoverfrance.com

– Discover France also offers cycle tours using hybrid electric bicycles with easy-to-charge battery motors.

Dordogne Experience (all France). Tel: 0033 544 40 59 04. www.dordogneexperience.com

– Duvine Cycling Tours of wine regions – American Company. www.duvine.com

– Exodus. Tel: 020 8675 5550 / 0845 863 9600. www.exodus.co.uk

– Explore Worldwide. Tel: 01252 760 100. www.explore.co.uk

– Freewheel Holidays. Tel: 02920 786 650 / 01633 681 997. www.freewheelholidays.com

– French Connections. www.frenchconnections.co.uk

– French Cycling Holidays Ltd. Tel: 0044 20 8861 5888. www.frenchcyclingholidays.com

"French Pedals offers cycling holidays in Normandy and Champagne-Ardennes. Their bikes are comfortable and easy to ride. The hotels they have chosen offer warm hospitality."

June 2011 – French Pedals and Brittany Borders Bicycling have just announced a joint venture to cross market their offers and services. John Hall, Owner of Brittany Borders Bicycling said, “Visitors to Europe often like to spend a month or more visiting Europe, especially Brittany and Normandy. The joint venture between Brittany Borders Bicycling and French Pedals creates a “one stop shop” for cycling holidays in two different but adjacent French regions as well as allowing clients to enjoy the distinct and high quality cycling holidays which both companies offer”.

– Graham Baxter Sporting Tours. Tel: 0113 284 3617. www.sportingtours.co.uk

– Headwater Cycling Holidays. Tel: 01606 720 033. www.headwater.com

Hike or Bike. Tel: 0033 475 21 01 37

– Hooked on Cycling. Tel: 01501 744727. www.hookedoncycling.co.uk

– Inntravel Ltd. Tel: 01653 617 949. www.inntravel.co.uk

– Liore Life. Tel: 0033 625 819 851. .loirelifecycling.com

– Outbreak Holidays. Tel: 020 7193 5325. www.outbreak-adventure.co.uk

– Responsible Travel. Tel: 01273 600030. www.responsibletravel.com

– Rough Tracks. Tel: 0700 056 0749. www.roughtracks.com

– Saddle Skedaddle. Tel: 0 0115 972 1123. www.skedaddle.co.uk

donkey holidays – UTracks. Tel: 0845 241 7599. Walking break with dinkeys carrying the luggage. www.utracks.com

– Veloloco. Tel: 0033 5 61 04 42 97. www.veloloco.com

– Wheel2wheelHolidays. Europe wide cycling holidays. Tel: 0800 731 1631. www.wheel2wheelholidays.com

Cyclewear

– Bike Fusion, accessories and clothing for cyclists. www.bikefusion.co.uk

Maps

The best large-scale maps are prepared by the Institut Géographique National (IGN, 107, rue La Boétie, 75008 Paris; phone 0033 1 42 56 06 68), as they indicate elevations and steep grades. As such they are recommended for cyclists

More about maps

Useful Outside links

Protect my holiday – Protect my Holiday. This company offers insolvency cover. www.protectmyholiday.com

– Fédération française de cyclotourisme – the biggest and oldest French cycling organisation. www.ffct.org

– French cycling federation. www.ffc.fr

European Greenways Association – European Greenways Association. www.aevv-egwa.org

Voies Verts, cycle routes in France. www.voies-vertes.info

Mobility week, an E.U. event to promote alternative ways of getting about. www.mobilityweek.eu

France Mobility week. www.bougezautrement.gouv.fr

Claud Monet's House and Garden. www.fondation-monet.com

Show booking widget only