Page links; Related site pagesBook travel, hotelsUseful outside linksAbout us, Contact

On this page;

Information about World War 1 and 2 War Graves, battlefields and memorials in France and Belgium – Day-tripper.net the web magazine for visitors to France.

World War 1 and 2 Holidays in France

Some useful information for visitors to War Graves, battlefields and memorials in France.

There are many holidays for veterens and history students studying the World war sites in France.

War museums in the North West France and Belgium.

Related site pages

Holidays in France; GitesSpasWineWorld WarEventsFrench Tourist OfficesTravelling TipsWeather

Touring War Graves, Memorials and Battlefields in France and Belgium

– Commonwealth War Graves Commission. Tel: 01628 634 221. www.cwgc.org

– The Wellington Quarry, rue Delétoile 62000 Arras. Tel: 0033 321 51 26 95. An underground memorial from the First World War. www.carriere-wellington.com

Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917, Belgium. www.passchendaele.be

Talbot House, Poperinge. "During the First World War, Poperinge was situated a few kilometres behind the turmoil of battle on the Ypres Salient. The British army commandeered the quiet little town to accommodate the throbbing heartbeat of its war machine. Very quickly, Poperinge became a 24-hour-a-day metropolis; in 1917 approximately 250,000 men were billeted in the area." www.talbothouse.be

– Zonnebeke in Belgium, has five important British and Commonwealth War Cemeteries nearby. The ideal place to start your visit of the battlefields is here. www.zonnebeke.be

Companies offering World War 1 and 2 Holidays

Battlebus Tours. Tel: 0033 231 222 882. www.battlebus.fr

D Day sites by air. www.d-dayairtours.com

Historic Tours (American). www.ww2tours.com

Holt Tours. Tel: 01304 612 248. www.battletours.co.uk

In the Footsteps Battlesfield Tours. Tel: 01989 565 599. www.inthefootsteps.com

– Leger Holidays, specialist WW1 company. Tel: 0845 130 7007. www.leger.co.uk

Milspec Tours (USA). www.gomilspec.com

Normandy Battlefield Tours. www.normandybattlefields.com

Normandy Site Seeing Tours. www.normandywebguide.com

– Overlord Tours. Carefully arranged visits around Normandy. Tel: 0033 323 826 511. www.overlordtour.com

over the top tours – Over the Top Tours, 85 Lord Hays Grove, Aberdeen. AB24 1WT. Tel: 01224 480 332. www.overthetoptours.net

– Poppy Travel. www.poppytravel.org.uk

Quasimodo Tours – day tours of Ypres. Tel: 0032 5037 0470. www.quasimodo.be

– Rifleman Tours. Tel:. 01908 – 617264. www.riflemantours.co.uk

Somme Battlefield Tours. Tel: 01202 840 520.

Stephen Ambrose Tours (USA). www.stephenambrosetours.com

Tours International. www.tours-international.co.uk

Valor Tours (USA). www.valortours.com

War History 1944 Tours. www.warhistory 1944.co.uk

Useful Outside links

– Poppy Travel – (the Royal British Legion's travel arm). Tel: 01622 716 729 / 716 182. www.poppytravel.org.uk

Somme Tourism. www.somme-tourisme.com

Ypres Museum Tel: 0032 57 22 85 84. www.inflandersfields.be

Memorial Caen. www.memorial-caen.fr

Normandie Memoire, commemerating the D Day landings in Normandy. www.normandiememoire.com

pas de calais tourism – Historvius, mapping History. "Historvius is a community-based historic destinations directory run by history enthusiasts who are passionate about the web". www.historvius.com

Show booking widget only