Page links; Related site pagesBook travel, hotelsUseful outside linksAbout us, Contact

On this page;

Information about travel companies offering short break holidays in France – Day-tripper.net, the web magazine for visitors to France.

Travel Companies offering holidays in France

Short Breaks – millions of Britons enjoy short breaks as well as shopping trips to France every year.

School holidays are obviously the most expensive times to travel. The cheapest time of the year is after the first week in January till the end of the month.

Here are a few useful links direct to some regulatory bodies concerned with travel companies who go to France. If you want to check if a company is properly bonded, check out one of these sites. For full financial protection book with a member of ABTA (ABTA and the FTO merged in July 2008).

Related site pages

Holidays in France; GitesSpasWineWorld WarEventsFrench Tourist OfficesTravelling TipsWeather

Regulatory bodies

– Air Travel Organisers Licence (ATOL). If anything happens you will get all your money back depending on the circumstances. For air travellers. Tel: 020 7453 6430. www.atol.org.uk

If booking a package holiday or a flight, check that the travel companies used are ATOL bonded. ATOL licenses travel companies that have participated in a financial guarantee scheme to ensure customers are reimbursed in the event of a collapse, or brought home should the collapse occur during their time abroad. ATOL protection, only applies to bookings where a flight plus another part of the trip are booked with the same operator (where applicable ATOL protection is clearly stated on the booking confirmation). This leaves huge groups of travellers unprotected against bankruptcy and insolvency such as: Independent travellers, travellers using other modes of transport other than aeroplanes, people staying with relatives and business trips. We strongly advise travellers to check their travel insurance covers independent travel, and if not (quite common) take out extra insurance.

– Association of Bonded Travel Organisers Trust (ABTOT). Tel: 020 7930 2388. www.abtot.com

– ABTOF, the Association of British Tour Operators to France. Tel: 01989 769 140. www.holidayfrance.org.uk

– Association of British Travel Agents (ABTA). Tel: 020 7307 1907. www.abta.com

– The Federation of Tour operators. Tel: 01273 477 722. LARGER COMPANIES. www.fto.co.uk

ABTA and the FTO merged in July 2008.

– Association of Independent Travel Operators have a brochure hotline for approved agents. Tel: 0208 744 9280. Security – always try and book your holiday with a fully Bonded Tour Operator. www.aito.co.uk

– PSA (Passenger Shipping Association Retail Agent Scheme). Tel: 020 7436 2449. CRUISES. www.cruiseexperts.org

– Travel Trust Association (TTA). Tel: 0870 889 0577. www.traveltrust.co.uk

Travel companies

– Access Travel. Tel: 01942 888 844 (Wheelchair accessible gîtes – holidays for disabled people). www.access-travel.co.uk

– Allez France. Tel: 0970 160 5743 / 01903 748 155. www.allezfrance.com

– Balfour France. Tel: 020 8878 9955. www.balfourfrance.com

– Bonnes Vacances. Tel: 01582 699 996. www.bvdirect.co.uk

– Bowhills. Now part of French Country Cottages. www.french-country-cottages.co.uk

– Brittany Travel. Tel: 01920 412 013. www.brittany.co.uk

– Campings FranceLoc. www.campings-franceloc.fr

– Canvas Holidays. Tel: 0870 192 1154. Canvas Camping and Mobile Home Holidays. Tel: 01383 629 000. canvas holidayswww.canvasholidays.co.uk

– Castaways Holidays. Tel: 01582 834 400. www.castaways.co.uk

– Chez Nous. Tel: 01484 684 075. www.cheznous.com

Choose Normandy – Choose Normandy, find a property to rent. www.choosenormandy.com

– Classic Collection Holidays (look for Côte d'Azur). www.classic-collection.co.uk

– Club Med. Tel: 0700 258 2633. www.clubmed.co.uk

– Cottages4you. Tel: 08704 448 877. www.cottages4you.co.uk

– Country Cottages in France. Tel: 08700 781 500. www.french-country-cottages.co.uk

– Cresta Holidays (My Travel). Tel: 0871 664 7963. www.crestaholidays.co.uk

– Crystal Holidays. Tel: 01235 824 324. www.crystalholidays.co.uk

– Destination-Wellness, a French company specialising in Spa and Wellness holidays in France. Well thought through holidays with carefully selected hotels. Information sheet (PDF). www.destination-wellness.com

– Direct Corsica. www.directcorsica.com

– Directline Holidays, skiing breaks, citybreaks, holidays. www.directline-holidays.co.uk

– Dominiques Villas. Tel: 020 7738 8772. www.dominiquesvillas.co.uk

– Easyjet Holidays. holidays.easyjet.com

easyjet holidays

– Elegant Resorts. Tel: 01244 897000. www.elegantresorts.co.uk

– Erna Low. Tel: 020 7584 2841. Ski, summer and spa holidays. www.ernalow.co.uk

– Erna Low Body and Soul. Tel: 020 7584 2841. www.bodyandsoulholidays.info

– Eurocamp. Tel: 01606 787 878. www.eurocamp.co.uk

eurocamp offers

– Go Barging, holidays all over Europe in canal boats. www.gobarging.com

Experience Ardeche – Experience Ardeche. Tel: 01749 81210. www.experienceardeche.com

– First Choice. Tel: 0871 200 7799. www.firstchoice.co.ukfirst choice holidays

First Choice holidays

– France a La Carte. Tel: 0033 561 120 794. www.francealacarte.com

French country cottages – French Country Cottages. Tel: 08700 781 500. www.french-country-cottages.co.uk

– France Direct. Tel: 0033 553 07 17 75. Self catering holidays. www.francedirect.net

– Residences Franceloc. Tel: 0033 492 28 38 48. Self Catering holidays in France. www.franceloc.com

Gascony Secret. Tel: 01284 827 253. www.gascony-secret.com

– Great Escapes Short Breaks. Tel: 01903 748 140. www.greatescapes.co.ukgreat escapes

– Hoseasons Holidays (Holidays lodges and Parks in Europe). Tel: 01502 502 588. www.hoseasons.co.uk

– Inntravel. Tel: 01653 629 010. www.inntravel.co.uk

– Interhome. Tel: 020 8891 1294. www.interhome.co.uk

– Inghams. Tel: 020 8780 4480. www.inghams.co.uk

inghams ski

– Intrepid Travel. www.intrepidtravel.com

Intrepid travel

– Keycamp Holidays. Tel: 0844 406 0200. www.keycamp.co.uk

– Kirker Holidays. Tel: 0020 7231 333. www.kirkerholidays.com

– Lagrange. Tel: 020 7371 6111. www.lagrange-vacances.com

Madame Vacances – Madame Vacances (eurogroup), summer and winter holidays in France. Tel: 0033 479 650 765. www.madamevacances.co.uk

– Meon Villas. Tel: 01730 268 411. www.meonvillas.co.uk

– Normandie Vacances. Tel: 01922 725 705. www.normandy-holidays.co.uk

– Holiday France Direct. Tel: 0871 244 1245. www.holidayfrancedirect.co.ukholiday france direct

Offers from Brittany ferries

Holiday France Direct

– Owners Syndicate. Tel: 020 7801 9804. www.ownerssyndicate.com

– Page and Moy (From 2013 Page & Moy will operate under the Travelsphere brand). Tel: 08700 106 434. www.pageandmoy.co.uk

– Palmer and Parker. Tel: 01494 815 411. www.palmerparker.com

– Pierre et Vacances, self catering holidays. Tel: 08700 267 144. www.pv-holidays.comPierre et Vacances

– Portland Holidays. Now part of Thomsons Holidays.

– Quality Villas. Tel: 01442 870 055. www.quality-villas.co.uk

Riviera Collection. Tel: 0870 909 0754.

The Villa Holiday Centre. Tel: 01425 650 123. www.villaholidaycentre.com

– Self Catering Holidays. For a brochure Tel: 01270 820 682. www.selfcateringhols.com

– Sherpa Walking Holidays. Tel: 020 8577 7187. www.sherpa-walking-holidays.co.uk

– Short Break Market – offers consumers short break packages traveling by DFDS-Norfolk Lines, P and O, Eurotunnel and Eurostar. They specialize in the top 12 European destinations for English travelers including Paris, Bruges, Ypres, Le Touquet and Brussels. The 150+ hotels on offer are deliberately independent and interesting, ranging from exquisite chateaux to beautifully presented hotels. www.shortbreakmarket.co.uk

– Solo's, for single people. Tel: 020 8951 2800. www.solosholidays.co.uk

– Stopoverconnections. Tel: 0114 266 9301. www.stopoverconnections.com

– STA Travel (Students). Tel: 0871 2 300 040. www.statravel.co.uk

Sunshine Holidays – Sunshine Holidays. Tel: 01252 761 022. www.sunshine.co.uk

– Superbreak. Tel: 0871 221 3344. www.superbreak.com

teletext holidays – Teletext – find a bargain. www.teletextholidays.co.uk

– Thomas Cook Holidays. Tel: 0870 750 5711. www.thomascook.com

- Thomson Holidays. Tel: 0871 231 4691. www.thomson.co.uk

– Travelsphere Holidays. Tel: 01858 410 818. www.travelsphere.co.uk

Travelsphere holidays

– VFB Holidays (now part of Travelzest). Tel: 01242 240 310. www.travelzest.com

– Villa Rentals. Tel: 020 7722 0722. www.abercrombiekent.co.uk

– Vintage Travel. Tel: 01954 261 431. www.vintagetravel.co.uk

– VVF Villages (French company). www.vvf-villages.com

– Wake up in France. www.WakeupinFrance.co.uk

Disabled travellers – Disabled Travellers

Deaf, hard of hearing or speech impaired? Have you registered with the Emergency SMS service? It's free and very effective. Once registered all you need to do in an emergency is send a sms and your message will be passed on to the emergency services. www.emergencysms.org.uk

Holiday Care Service (a National Charity) gives travel and holiday information and support for disabled people.

2nd Floor, Imperial buildings, Victoria Road, Horley, Surrey. RH6 7PZ. Tel: 01293 774 535. www.holidaycare.org.uk

– Tourism for All, The Hawkins Suite, Enham Place. Andover SP11 6JS. www.tourismforall.org.uk

– Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee. Door to Door, a travel guide for disabled people. www.gov.uk

– The main French organisation for the disabled. www.apf.asso.fr

Pour Tous travel

"C'est pour tous" (Tourism, open to everyone) – A campaign to make tourist sites more accessible for disabled people is based in Lille. For more information, APF (Association des Paralysés de France Service Accessibilité), 231, rue Nationale. 59800. Lille. Tel: 0033 320 57 99 84.

Tourisme handicaps

Tourisme Handicaps – 280 Bld. St. Germaine. 75007. Paris. Tel: 0033 1 44 11 10 41. This logo "Tourism and Handicap" aims to bring reliable, descriptive and objective information about the accessibility of sites and availability of equipment. It is a voluntary organisation supported by Tourist places keen to accomodate disabled people. www.tourisme-handicaps.org

Parking at Cite Europe in Calais for disabled drivers – more

Useful Outside links

Protect my holiday – Protect my Holiday. This company offers insolvency cover. www.protectmyholiday.com

Show booking widget only